Contemporary architecture

Brumset

Sunset and views from the new library.image

I went on my second visit to the new Library of Birmingham this weekend. Finally made it to the top to see the Shakespeare Memorial Room and witnessed the sun setting from the roof terrace. I’ve developed a bit of a new obsession with capturing ‘brumsets’ and the roof terraces certainly provide some interesting shots from across the city.

The library was heaving with crowds of people everywhere, it seems it’s popularity as a tourist attraction is continuously growing. I did feel a little sorry for some of the people studying and reading on the various levels as a steady stream of people were loudly passing by. But at least people are eager to visit the building, though granted many like myself are there for the views/architecture and not the books!

Leave a comment